Grants and Awards
ICCHE Service Award

ICCHE Service Award

Presented by the Past Presidents’ Committee

Founded in 1975, the Illinois Council on Continuing Higher Education (ICCHE) has a forty-year tradition in providing outstanding leadership and service in Illinois. ICCHE is a unique organization in that, from its very inception, it has been a collaboration among Illinois private colleges and universities, Illinois community colleges and Illinois public universities and has expanded in the past several years to include private-for-profit and multi-university institutions.

In recognition of this proud history the ICCHE Past President’s Committee may select annual ICCHE Service Awards to be presented at the ICCHE state annual meeting. These awards would go to an institution and/or individual that has provided extended and exemplary service to ICCHE and the State of Illinois. ICCHE Past Presidents will comprise the selection committee. A letter of nomination is solicited in the fall from ICCHE members and the award will be presented at the Annual Meeting, after approval by the ICCHE Board of Directors.

The criteria for the award:

  • Long term/outstanding contribution to ICCHE.
  • Can be either an individual or Illinois higher education institution.
  • Exemplary service achieved beyond expectations.


Previous Award Recipients:

  • 2016: Bonnie Covelli, University of St. Francis
  • 2015: University of St. Francis
  • 2014: Ray Schroeder, University of Illinois-Springfield
  • 2013: Cheryl Brunsmann, Southwestern Illinois College
  • 2012: Richard Carter, Western Illinois University
  • 2011: Sandra Rhoads, Southern Illinois University-Carbondale
  • 2010: Carol Risic, Concordia University
  • 2009: Faye Letsh, University of Illinois-Urbana Champaign
  • 2008: Valerie Thaxton, Southwestern Illinois College