Grants and Awards
ICCHE Innovative Initiative Awards

ICCHE Innovative Initiative Awards

The ICCHE Innovative Initiative Award is one way that the organization recognizes and promotes best practices across Illinois.  Bestowed each year during the annual meeting in February, the Innovative Initiative Award provides the opportunity for two-year and four-year institutions to showcase outstanding new programs and to outline the path to that success.

Application Procedures

The ICCHE Innovative Initiative Awards program presents an excellent opportunity to showcase your outstanding programs, to gain recognition for your unit and your institution, and to learn more about successful new initiatives at other institutions. At its annual meeting in Chicago, ICCHE will again present an award for an outstanding program that is both innovative and replicable.

In an effort to be efficient with our resources, we ask that you apply electronically for the award. All communication with the selection committee will be handled via e- mail, so please send only electronic sources as support for your program’s nomination. You may include attachments of your program brochures or links to applicable websites, but paper forms, brochures, and DVDs/CDs will not be accepted by or distributed to the selection committee. ICCHE appreciates your support of the Innovative Awards.

To be considered, nominations must be submitted electronically by December 16, 2016. Please note that winners are asked to make a Friday morning presentation at the ICCHE Annual Meeting in Chicago at the Doubletree Hotel.

Initiatives meet some or all of the following criteria:

  • Contributes to the purpose of ICCHE.
  • Meets a need in the community served by the institution.
  • The impact (on the institution, personnel, administration, budget, partners, community, etc.).
  • Uniqueness to continuing higher education.
  • Ease of replication of this initiative.

Questions? Contact Tim Panfil.


Download: Flyer (PDF)

Past Innovative Initiative Award recipients:

Innovative Initiative Award winners

Link: 2016 – University of Illinois Springfield

Download: 2015 – Elmhurt College (PDF)

Download: 2014 – Dominican University (PDF)

Download: 2013 – University of St. Francis, Lewis, Joliet Junior College (PDF)

Link: 2012 – University of Illinois Springfield

Download: 2011 – Heartland Community College (PDF)

Download: 2010 – Greenville College (PDF)

Download: 2009 – Illinois State University (PDF)

Download: 2008 – Wilbur Wright College/Humboldt Park (PDF)